Neutral Milk Hotel - On Avery Island

Vendor: Merge
Released: 2000


Part of the Elephant 6 family (a collective of lo-fi indie bands from the '90s that included The Apples In Stereo and Olivia Tremor Control), Neutral Milk Hotel is the lo-fi brainchild of Louisiana-native Jeff Mangum. 1996’s On Avery Island is an inscrutable concept album, a chronicle of an insular world told in a remarkably universal language. A fuzzy masterpiece of experimental lo-fi recording, the album wraps its ragged pop songs in ribbons of loops, marching-band squawks, and Casio noodling; the opener, "Song Against Sex," is as much a manifesto as a kick-off, a self-propelled marvel hopped up on rapid-fire wordplay and a stunningly ramshackle melody punctuated by bloated trombone moans. Throughout the record, Jeff Mangum's wheels threaten to fly off at any time, his songs are cryptic and crazed, his ideas fast and furious, and together they force the home-recording concept out of the basement and into a brave new world.


1.  Song Against Sex
2.  You've Passed
3.  Someone Is Waiting
4.  A Baby For Pree
5.  Marching Theme
6.  Where You'll Find Me Now
7.  Avery Island/April 1st
8.  Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone
9.  Three Peaches
10. Naomi
11. April 8th
12. Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey's Eye

Bonus Download Card Tracks:
13. Everything Is
14. Snow Song Pt. 1

Request next avaible copy

‹ See more New Vinyl.

€25.10 EUR
Neutral Milk Hotel - On Avery Island Neutral Milk Hotel - On Avery Island