Costello, Elvis - Spike

Vendor: WB
Released: 1989


WB 925 848 made in Germany with lyric inner sleeve.

Vinyl NM. Cover EX.

Following a pair of near-masterpieces in 1986, Elvis Costello went into semi-seclusion, separating from the Attractions (once again) and Columbia Records, emerging three years later on Warner Brothers with Spike. Mockingly billing himself as "the Beloved Entertainer" on the album's front cover, there's nevertheless a real sense of showbiz pizzazz here, as he tries on a little bit of everything. You like Costello the soul singer? Try "Deep Dark Truthful Mirror," recorded with the Dirty Dozen Brass Band. Costello the pop sophisticate? How about the torch song "Baby Plays Around" or "God's Comic," a tune that mocks Andrew Lloyd Webber, while aching to eclipse him.


1. ...this Town...
2. Let Him Dangle
3. Deep Dark Truthful Mirror
4. Veronica
5. God's Comic
6. Chewing Gum
7. Tramp The Dirt Down
8. Stalin Malone
9. Satellite
10. Pads, Paws And Claws
11. Baby Plays Around
12. Miss Macbeth
13. Any King's Shilling
14. Coal-train Robberies
15. Last Boat Leaving

Request next avaible copy

‹ See more Rara/2hand.

€7.95 EUR
Costello, Elvis - Spike Costello, Elvis - Spike