Skov, Kira - Spirit Tree

Vendor: Strut Records
Released: 14-05-21



Vocalist Kira Skov also fell under Billie’s spell: “I’ve been listening to Billie Holiday since my early teens. When I was around thirteen, I founda record in my local shopping center with that beautiful and magical portrait of Billie with the famous flower in her hair. She has been thesoundtrack to long periods of my life ever since.”Often, when we hear new versions of songs that Billie Holiday sang, we inadvertently compareThem with the original recordings. We can’t help ourselves. However, it quickly becomes apparent that Kira makes no attempt to sound like Billie Holiday. Kira sounds like Kira, and her personal and original interpretations bring these tunes from the 1930’s and 1940’s into the present. These songs have followed her, been important to her. Kira sings Them with feeling, atmosphere and a rare emotional depth.


1. We Won't Go Quietly (feat. Bonnie 'Prince' Billy)
2. Dusty Kate (feat. Mette Lindberg)
3. Pick Me Up (feat. Stine Grøn)
4. Idea Of Love (feat. Mark Lanegan)
5. Horses (feat. Jenny Wilson & John Parish)
6. Tidal Heart (feat. Marie Fisker)
7. Some Kind of Lovers (feat. Bonnie 'Prince' Billy)
8. Love Is A Force (feat. Stine Grøn & Bill Callahan)
9. Deep Poetry (feat. Lionel Liminana)
10. Burn Down The House (feat. Marie Fisker)
11. Ode To The Poets (feat. Mette Lindberg)
12. Marie (feat. John Parish)
13. Theme for Lenny (feat. Lenny Kaye)



‹ See more New Vinyl.

€23.65 EUR
Skov, Kira - Spirit Tree Skov, Kira - Spirit Tree