Brown, James - Soulful Christmas

Vendor: Polydor
Collection: Christmas
Release: 1968



Brown, who died on December 25, 2006, recorded three Christmas-themed albums during his creative peak: 1966's James Brown Sings Christmas Songs, 1968's A Soulful Christmas and 1970's Hey America It's Christmas. The best tracks from each are collected on this fantastic set. The Godfather was re-inventing rock & roll in his own funk-revolutionary image throughout the late Sixties, so it's no surprise that he injected some soul-power into the holly, jolly time of year. There's bent-knee R&B balladry ("Merry Christmas Baby" and "Please Come Home for Christmas"), smokin' groove workouts ("Go Power at Christmas Time," "Soulful Christmas") and shots of gritty social consciousness ("Santa Claus Goes to the Ghetto," "Let's Unite the Whole World at Christmas"). Like Santa himself, Mr. Dynamite has something in his bottomless gift bag for every girl and boy the world over


179.95 dkr



1. Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto
2. Santa Claus, Santa Claus
3. Believers Shall Enjoy (Non Believers Shall Suffer)
4. Soulful Christmas
5. Tit For Tat (Ain't No Taking Back)
6. Christmas Is Coming
7. Say It Loud (I'm Black And I'm Proud) (Part 1 & 2)
8. In The Middle
9. Let's Unite The Whole World At Christmas
10. You Know It
11. Santa Claus Gave Me A Brand New Start

‹ See more Christmas.

€23.95 EUR
Brown, James - Soulful Christmas Brown, James - Soulful Christmas